A password-protected directory or area is a folder that may be accessed only if a username and a password are typed in, so no unauthorized individuals could look at its content. This feature can be used for the main folder of a particular site or just for a particular subfolder depending on your needs. For instance, when you are creating a new site and you do not want people to see it before it's 100% ready, you may want to limit the access to it entirely, and if you need only some individuals to be able to access particular files, you can password-protect only a particular folder, while the rest of the site could be seen by everyone. Anyway, a “403 Forbidden” error page will appear when the login details the visitor enters aren't correct. Even a direct link to a file won't work given that any folder above it is password-protected.

Password Protected Directories in Shared Website Hosting

Setting up a password-protected area will take no more than a few clicks and a few seconds when you host your sites in a shared website hosting account with us. You'll not need to do anything challenging - you will have to pick a domain/subdomain, to pick which folder under it has to be secured, and then to type in the login name and password that'll be used to access that folder. When a number of people require their own login credentials, there won't be a problem to make several different usernames with access to the very same folder. All protected folders will appear with a padlock icon inside the File Manager section, so you shall always know where this function is active. If you would like to deactivate the protection feature for any folder, you can deactivate it from the same section of the CP where you have enabled it.

Password Protected Directories in Semi-dedicated Servers

If you have a semi-dedicated server account with us, you will be able to protect any content you have uploaded by using our protection tool. Its interface is as basic and intuitive as that of the Hepsia CP it's part of, so you shall not have to input any code at any time. You'll only have to select one of the domains/subdomains which you have inside the website hosting account and to choose which folder must be password-protected - the website’s root folder or some folder below it. You may then enter the username and the password, which will be stored in encrypted form in our system, and you will be all set. The protection will be switched on instantly, so anyone that attempts to access the recently secured folder will have to input the right login info. In cases where various individuals must be able to open exactly the same content, you can create a separate username for each one.